MOBO Awards 2022: Full winners list including Little Simz and Ezra Collective

MOBO Awards 2022: Full winners list including Little Simz and Ezra Collective

The MOBO Awards returned this year for their 25th year of honouring music of black origin in the United Kingdom.

The awards ceremony aims to recognise achievements in rap, hip-hop, R&B, soul, grime, drill, gospel, jazz, reggae, garage, drum n bass as well as other genres, reports NME.

In a run-up to the awards, MOBO founder Kanya King CBE said in a statement: “It’s a proud moment to see MOBO Awards return to London for our big 25-year milestone, which will see us celebrating our legacy, as well as paying it forward to the biggest stars of the scene.

“Twenty-five years ago I put my house and sanity on the line to make the first MOBO Awards happen at the Connaught Rooms and what an incredible journey it has been.”

This year’s ceremony was hosted by Chunkz and Yung Filly, and the star-studded event saw performances from Kojey Radical, Cat Burns, Flo, Fireboy DML and many more.

Nile Rodgers and the late music entrepreneur Jamal Edwards were among those honoured with special gongs at the awards.

Rodgers, who is the frontman of funk band Chic and chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, was recognised with the lifetime achievement award.

While Edwards, who set up the music platform SBTV in 2006 and died on February 20 at the age of 31, was posthumously honoured with the Paving The Way prize, which celebrates trailblazers who had led the way for future generations of talent to follow.

But, who were the winners? Here’s the full list.

Full list of MOBO Awards winners

Best Female Act: PinkPantheress

Best Male Act: Central Cee

Album Of The Year (joint winners): Little Simz – Sometimes I Might Be Introvert and Knucks – Alpha Pace

Song Of The Year: Dreya Mac, FelixThe1st and Finch Fetti – Own Brand (Baddie)

Best Newcomer: Bru-C

Video Of The Year: Central Cee – Doja

Best R&B/Soul Act: Mahalia

Best Grime Act: D Double E

Best Hip-Hop Act: D-Block Europe

Best Drill Act: K-Trap

Best International Act: Burna Boy

Best Performance In A TV Show/Film: Kaine Robinson (Kano) as Sully – Top Boy

Best Media Personality: Nella Rose

Best Alternative Music Act: Bob Vylan

Best Electronic/Dance Act: Nia Archives

Best African Music Act: Burna Boy

Best Gospel Act: Still Shadey

Best Jazz Act: Ezra Collective

Best Caribbean Music Act: Skillibeng

Best Producer: Inflo

Lifetime Achievement Award: Nile Rodgers

Outstanding Contribution Award: Craig David

Paving The Way Award: Jamal Edwards MBE