Newcastle Central and West candidates for the General Election 2024

Newcastle city centre general views. The Quayside.
-Credit: (Image: Newcastle Chronicle)

The Newcastle Central seat has been largely Labour-held in the post-war period though it did have a Conservative MP for four years in the 1980s.

Chi Onwurah, Labour’s Shadow Science, Research and Digital Minister, will be looking to defend the seat she first won in 2010. She had a majority of more than 12,000 in the 2019 election.

Among her challengers will be the Conservative candidate Frances Lasok, a political advisor, and Yvonne Ridley, a former journalist from the North East who has been a prominent supporter of the Palestinian cause. Ali Avaei, a councillor in Newcastle, will run for the Lib Dems, while former lord mayor Habib Rahman will also be on the ballot as an independent after quitting the Labour Party earlier this year in a row over alleged Islamophobia.

Read more: Go here for more news about the General Election 2024

The seat, which has high levels of child poverty, has been extended westwards to take in Denton, Lemington, Westerhope and Newbiggin Hall.

Here are the Newcastle Central and West candidates for the General Election in 2024:

Ali Avaei - Liberal Democrat

Frances Lasok - Conservative

Ashton Muncaster - Reform

Chi Onwurah - Labour

John Pearson - Green

Habib Rahman - Independent

Yvonne Ridley - Independent