Newcastle Central and West general election results 2024 in full

Chi Onwurah winning the Newcastle Central and West seat in the 2024 general election
-Credit: (Image: Newcastle Chronicle)

Chi Onwurah has been re-elected to Parliament after winning the Newcastle Central and West constituency. The Labour candidate, who first became an MP in 2010, won 46.5% of the vote and a majority of more than 11,000 in the redrawn seat, considered safe territory for Labour.

Her share of the vote fell from the 57.6% she won in Newcastle Central in 2019 – possibly due to the presence of independents Habib Rahman and Yvonne Ridley, who both ran on a pro-Gaza platform in a constituency with a large Muslim population. Reform UK’s Ashton Muncaster beat the Conservatives into second.

The former Newcastle Central seat covers the city and has been extended westwards to take in Denton, Lemington, Westerhope and Newbiggin Hall. The Newcastle Central seat has been largely Labour-held though it did have a Conservative MP for four years in the 1980s.

Polls closed in the general election 2024 at 10pm on Thursday, July 4, with counts taking place overnight. Results from across the UK were declared in the early hours of Friday morning, with Newcastle Central and West declaring just before 12.45am.

Read more: North East general election results live

Below are the results for each candidate in Newcastle Central and West in full:

Ali Avaei - Liberal Democrat, 1,946

Frances Lasok - Conservative, 4,228

Ashton Muncaster - Reform, 7,815

Chi Onwurah - Labour, 18,875

John Pearson - Green, 3,228

Habib Rahman - Independent, 1,636

Yvonne Ridley - Independent, 3,627

Turnout in Newcastle Central and West was 52.87%. You can find all the results and reaction on our dedicated general election results page here.

All the results for the Newcastle Central and West constituency, and across the UK as they are announced, are in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared with who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.