North Durham candidates for the General Election 2024

Chester-le-street, in the North Durham seat
-Credit: (Image: ncjMedia)

North Durham has been held by Labour since its creation as a constituency in 1983, and by Kevan Jones since 2010.

Mr Jones’ decision close to the election not to stand again led to Labour choosing NEC member Luke Akehurst as its candidate. That decision has already proved controversial due to Mr Akehurst’s vocal support for Israel and for his opposition to the party’s left wing. Local councillor Craig Martin is standing for the Lib Dems, while George Carter will run for the Conservatives.

The constituency’s main communities are Chester-le-Street, Stanley and Sacriston.

Read more: Chester-le-Street food charity celebrates anniversary

Go here for more news about the General Election 2024

Here are the North Durham candidates for the General Election in 2024:

Luke Akehurst - Labour

Chris Bradburn - Workers Party

George Carter - Conservative

Tom Chittenden - Social Democratic Party

Andrew Husband - Reform

Stephen Lindsay - Independent

Craig Martin - Liberal Democrat

Sunny Moon-Schott - Green