‘Oppenheimer,’ ‘Poor Things,’ ‘Saltburn’ Collect Art Directors Guild Awards

Poor Things, Oppenheimer and Saltburn won Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) Awards in the categories for fantasy, period and contemporary live action features, respectively, at the 28th ADG Awards, which were handed out Saturday at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Ovation Hollywood.

Poor Things and Oppenheimer are additionally nominated for the Oscar in production design, alongside Barbie, Killers of the Flower Moon and Napoleon, which were also ADG nominated in their respective categories.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

Over the past five years, the winner of the ADG’s period film prize has gone on to win the Oscar for production design twice: In 2020, for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, and in 2021, for Mank. During that time, the production design Oscar went to the winner of the fantasy category twice, in 2019, for Black Panther, and 2022, for Dune. A year ago, eventual Oscar winner All Quiet on the Western Front was nominated in the period film category but Babylon won the ADG Award in that category.

On Saturday, additional ADG Award winners included Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, Beef, The Last of Us, Succession, Reservation Dogs, The Great and Taylor Swift’s “I Can See You.”

During the evening, honors were presented to Mimi Leder, who accepted the Cinematic Imagery Award, and David Lowery, Greg Papalia, Wynn P. Thomas and Francine West, who were bestowed Lifetime Achievement Awards. Production designer Lawrence G. Paull was inducted posthumously into the ADG Hall of Fame.

Host Max Greenfield’s segments included one during which he came to the stage dressed as Ken from Barbie, dancing to “Murder on the Dance Floor,” from Saltburn.

A complete list of winners for the 28th annual ADG Awards follows.

Feature Film Categories

Period Feature Film

Asteroid City – Production Designer: Adam Stockhausen 
Killers of the Flower Moon – Production Designer: Jack Fisk 
Maestro – Production Designer: Kevin Thompson 
Napoleon – Production Designer: Arthur Max
Oppenheimer – Production Designer: Ruth De Jong (WINNER)

Fantasy Feature Film

Barbie – Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood 
The Creator – Production Designer: James Clyne 
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 – Production Designer: Beth Mickle 
Poor Things – Production Designers: James Price, Shona Heath (WINNER)
Wonka – Production Designer: Nathan Crowley

Contemporary Feature Film

Beau is Afraid – Production Designer: Fiona Crombie 
John Wick: Chapter 4 – Production Designer: Kevin Kavanaugh 
The Killer – Production Designer: Donald Graham Burt 
Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One – Production Designer: Gary Freeman 
Saltburn – Production Designer: Suzie Davies (WINNER)

Animated Feature Film

The Boy and the Heron – Art Director: Yoji Takeshige
Elemental – Production Designer: Don Shank
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse – Production Designer: Patrick O’Keefe (WINNER)
The Super Mario Bros. Movie – Production Designer: Guillaume Aretos
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem – Production Designer: Yashar Kassai

Television Categories

One-Hour Period Single-Camera Series

The Crown: “Sleep Dearie Sleep” – Production Designer: Martin Childs
The Gilded Age: “His Grace the Duke,” “Close Enough to Touch,” “Warning Shots” – Production Designer: Bob Shaw
The Great: “You the People,” “Fun,” “Peter and the Wolf” – Production Designer: Francesca di Mottola (WINNER)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: “Susan” – Production Designer: Bill Groom
Perry Mason: “Chapter Eleven” – Production Designer: Keith Cunningham

One-Hour Fantasy Single-Camera Series

For All Mankind: “The Bear Hug” – Production Designer: Seth Reed 
The Last of Us: “Infected” – Production Designer: John Paino (WINNER)
Loki: “Ouroboros” – Production Designer: Kasra Farahani
The Mandalorian: “Chapter 23: The Spies” – Production Designers: Doug Chiang, Andrew L. Jones 
Silo: “Machines” – Production Designer: Gavin Bocquet

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series

Fargo: “Trials and Tribulations” – Production Designer: Trevor Smith
The Morning Show: “The Kármán Line,” “Ghost in the Machine,” “Love Island” – Production Designer: Nelson Coates 
Poker Face: “Escape From Shit Mountain” – Production Designer: Judy Rhee 
Succession: “America Decides” – Production Designer: Stephen Carter (WINNER)
Yellowjackets: “Digestif” – Production Designer: Margot Ready

Television Movie or Limited Series

All the Light We Cannot See – Production Designer: Simon Elliott 
A Murder at the End of the World – Production Designer: Alex DiGerlando 
Beef – Production Designer: Grace Yun (WINNER)
Daisy Jones & The Six – Production Designer: Jessica Kender 
Lessons in Chemistry – Production Designer: Cat Smith

Half Hour Single-Camera Series

The Bear: “Omelette” – Production Designer: Merje Veski
Only Murders in the Building: “Sitzprobe,” “Opening Night” – Production Designer: Patrick Howe
Our Flag Means Death: “Impossible Birds,” “Red Flags,” “Man on Fire” – Production Designer: Ra Vincent
Reservation Dogs: “Deer Lady” – Production Designer: Brandon Tonner-Connolly (WINNER)
What We Do in the Shadows: “A Weekend at Morrigan Manor” – Production Designer: Shayne Fox

Multi-Camera Series

Bob Heart Abishola: “Twerk O’ Clock” – Production Designer: Francoise Cherry-Cohen
Bunk’d: “The Glitching Hour” – Production Designer: Kelly Hogan
The Conners: “Road Trip and Guilt Trip” – Production Designer: Jerry Dunn
Frasier: “Moving In” – Production Designer: Glenda Rovello (WINNER)
That 90’s Show: “Free Leia” – Production Designer: Greg J. Grande

Variety or Reality Series

A Black Lady Sketch Show: “I’m Clapping From My Puss,” “What Kind of Medicine Does Dr. King Practice?,” “Peek-A-Boob, Your Titty’s Out” – Production Designers: Cindy Chao, Michele Yu
History of the World, Part II: “VIII” – Production Designer: Monica Sotto
RuPaul’s Drag Race: “Blame it on the Edit” – Production Designer: Gianna Costa
Saturday Night Live: “Jenna Ortega/The 1975,” “Nate Bargatze/Foo Fighters” – Production Designers: Keith Ian Raywood, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph DeTullio
Squid Game: The Challenge: “War” – Production Designers: Mathieu Weekes, Benjamin Norman (WINNER)

Variety Special

76th Annual Tony Awards – Production Designer: Steve Bass
80th Golden Globe Awards – Production Designer: Brian Stonestreet (WINNER)
Dave Chappelle: The Dreamer – Production Designer: Bruce Ryan
Hannah Waddingham: Home for Christmas – Production Designer: Misty Buckley
The Weeknd: Live at Sofi Stadium – Production Designer: Es Devlin


Apple: The New Macbook Pro: “Scary Fast”Production Designer: François Audouy (WINNER – TIE) “Somewhere, Anywhere,” The Musical – Production Designer: Florencia Martin (WINNER – TIE)
Dom Perignon: “Lady Gaga – The Labor of Creation” – Production Designer: Dylan Kahn Giorgio
Armani: “Armani Si” – Production Designer: Annie Beauchamp
M&M’s: “Ma&Ya’s” – Production Designer: Natalie Groce

Short Format & Music Videos

Apple: “The Underdogs: Swiped Mac” – Production Designer: Jason Hougaard
boygenius: “the film” – Production Designer: Jen Dunlap
Lana Del Rey featuring Jon Batiste: “Candy Necklace” – Production Designer: Brandon Mendez
Miley Cyrus: “River” – Production Designer: Kurt Gefke
Taylor Swift: “I Can See You” – Production Designer: Ethan Tobman (WINNER)

Best of The Hollywood Reporter