Post-Tribune reporters win state awards

Four Post-Tribune writers won top awards Friday at the Society of Professional Journalists’ 2023 Best of Indiana Journalism Contest awards dinner in Indianapolis.

Freelance writer Michelle L. Quinn won first place in business or consumer affairs reporting for her story on the plight of Hobart apartment dwellers impacted by the emergency closing of their complex.

Quinn also took third place in the government/politics category for a story about the conflict when a Highland firefighter won a town council seat last year.

Freelance writer Jim Masters won second place for investigative reporting on stories about Griffith town festivals losing money.

Masters also won third place in the same category for a story about the president of the Griffith Town Council earning a lucrative salary for taking on more duties.

Senior content editor and writer Amy Lavalley won second place in the Arts and Entertainment category for a story on Valparaiso University’s plans to sell core works of art to finance dormitory improvements.

Lavalley also won third place in the non-deadline story category about the impact of a shuttered Northwest Indiana homeless shelter putting clients at risk.

Freelance writer Anna Ortiz won third place in the Arts and Entertainment category for a feature about preserving the past and increasing tourism at paranormal sites in Northwest Indiana.

The Indianapolis Star team of Tony Cook, Alexandria Burris, Dayeon Eom and Ryan Martin won the Story of the Year award for its investigative series called “Bad Bars,” that explored how influential public officials allowed bad bars to remain open.

Lee V. Gaines of WFYI was named Journalist of the Year for covering a range of issue stories on education issues and children.

The Enterprise Desk at the Indiana Daily Student at Indiana University won the Student Journalist of the Year award for reporting and investigating issues that impact IU students.

The Indiana Public Access Counselor’s Office, headed by Luke Britt, received the First Amendment Award. Britt is the state’s longest-serving public access counselor, appointed by Mike Pence in 2013.