School board ballots in the mail

Apr. 25—Ballots for school board elections across Lake County were mailed to voters April 22 and must be returned to the Lake County Election Office in the Lake County Courthouse by 8 p.m. Tuesday, May 7.

The U.S. Post Office recommends mailing ballots by April 30 — at least a week before Election Day — so they'll arrive at the courthouse by May 7.

On Election Day the office will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for ballots to be returned, and a ballot box is available during business hours.

In school districts where only once candidate has filed for an available seat, trustees are elected by acclamation. That's the case in the following districts:

Arlee School District #8J has one open seat, and incumbent Lindsey O'Neill is unopposed.

Dayton School District #33 has one opening, and incumbent Arnold Bjork has filed for the office.

Ronan School District #30 has two school board seats open. Incumbent Tom Anderson has refiled for his position; no one filed for the vacant seat by deadline.

Salmon Prairie/Swan Lake School District #73 has one trustee seat open and incumbent Manuel Kesterson has filed for the position.

Valley View School District #35 has one open trustee position, and incumbent Linda Westphal filed for that seat.

Trustees will also be elected to fill seats on local water and sewer and fire districts in Arlee, Polson and Chief Cliff.

For questions regarding the election, call the Lake County Election Office at 406-883-7268.