South Africa's Ramaphosa unveils new coalition cabinet

Following intense negotiations, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed opposition politicians to key ministerial positions in new cabinet while the ANC retained 20 positions, including key ministries.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced his new government on Sunday with the former opposition parties getting 12 out of 32 portfolios after the ruling ANC lost its outright parliamentary majority.

The African National Congress (ANC), which has governed the country since the advent of democracy in 1994, kept 20 out of 32 cabinet positions. They included key ministries such as foreign affairs, finance, defence, justice and police.

A statement from the party welcomed the president's announcement as "an important step forward, and a testament to the resilience of our democracy".

The largest coalition partner, the Democratic Alliance (DA), will hold six portfolios including home affairs, environment and public works. DA leader John Steenhuisen, 48, was appointed Minister of Agriculture.

A statement from the party hailed a "new era in South Africa's democratic journey" where they would have "zero tolerance for corruption".

The Zulu nationalist Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), anti-immigration party Patriotic Alliance and right-wing Afrikaans party Freedom-Front Plus and other smaller parties got six cabinet places between them.


Read more on FRANCE 24 English

Read also:
Ramaphosa re-elected president as South Africa awaits details of unity government
What if the ANC does not win? South Africa's most uncertain elections since 1994
Early voting begins in South African elections that could spell end of ANC dominance