South Shields general election results 2024 in full

Herd Groyne has featured in Barbour catalogues since the 1900s.
-Credit: (Image: Barbour)

Emma Lewell-Buck was re-elected as the MP for South Shields in a landslide win, as Reform UK were second in another North East seat.

Ms Lewell-Buck, who has now been the MP since 2013, was re-elected with a majority of 6,653, a decrease from 9,585 in 2019. The Green Party’s success in the local elections in May was reflected in the voting, David Francis coming third with 5,433.

The South Tyneside constituency of South Shields has added Cleadon and East Boldon to its boundaries. Like its neighbour Jarrow, the South Shields constituency has been held by the Labour Party for almost a century. The seat was won by former social worker Emma Lewell-Buck in a by-election in 2013 after her predecessor David Miliband left Parliament. Ms Lewell-Buck held a majority in South Shields of more than 9,500 in 2019, and has been re-elected for 2024 with a majority of more than 6,500.

Read more: North East general election results live

Below are the results for each candidate in South Shields in full:

Jonathan Aibi - Liberal Democrat, 1,402

David Francis - Green, 5,433

Stephen Holt - Reform, 8,469

Ahmed Khan - Independent, 2,270

Emma Lewell-Buck - Labour, 15,122

Craig Robinson - Conservative, 4,128

You can find all the results and reaction on our dedicated general election results page here.

All the results for the South Shields constituency, and across the UK as they are announced, are in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared with who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.