Stephen Flynn reappointed as SNP's Westminster leader after hanging onto seat

Stephen Flynn is the SNP leader at Westminster
-Credit: (Image: PA)

Stephen Flynn has been reappointed as the SNP's Westminster leader.

Flynn has held the post since Ian Blackford resigned in December 2022 and he hung on to his Aberdeen South seat last week with a reduced majority of 3,758.

The party, however, lost its status as the third largest in the Commons after it was left with just nine MPs, compared to 48 in 2019.

On Monday, the SNP held an AGM which saw Pete Wishart, the longest-serving SNP MP, appointed as deputy leader.

Aberdeen North MP Kirsty Blackman was appointed chief whip and Flynn had been expected to carry on but he only confirmed the group's decision on Wednesday.

Writing on X, formally Twitter, he said: "I was delighted to be asked to continue as Group Leader and to have the experience of Pete Wishart join me as deputy."

Don't miss the latest news from around Scotland and beyond - Sign up to our daily newsletter here.