Sunderland Central general election results 2024 in full

Voters in the Sunderland Central constituency have been going to the polls in the general election 2024 to choose their new MP. The Sunderland Central seat remains unchanged since 2019 and contains areas including Fulwell, Hendon, Ryhope and Pallion.

Sunderland Central's boundaries are unchanged in this general election, despite alterations in most other parts of the North East. The retirement of outgoing Labour MP Julie Elliott was announced just after the election was called. Labour has held the seat and its candidate Lewis Atkinson has been elected to Sunderland Central to replace her.

Polls closed in the general election 2024 at 10pm on Thursday, July 4, with counts taking place overnight. Results from across the UK are expected in the early hours of Friday morning, with Sunderland Central declaring just after midnight.

Read more: North East general election results live

Below are the results for each candidate in Sunderland Central in full:

Lewis Atkinson - Labour, 16,852

Chris Eynon - Reform, 10,779

Rachel Featherstone - Green, 2,993

Niall Hodson - Liberal Democrat, 3,602

Greg Peacock - Conservative, 5,731

You can find all the results and reaction on our dedicated general election results page here.

All the results for the Sunderland constituency, and across the UK as they are announced, are in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared with who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.