Switzerland wins Eurovision Song Contest amidst a tense evening

Switzerland has taken out the winner's trophy at the 68th Eurovision Song Contest.

Nemo won the night with the song, The Code, and is the first openly non-binary Eurovision winner.

They beat Croatia who came in second place, with Ukraine placing third.

When accepting the trophy, they said, "I hope this contest can continue to live up to its promise to stand for dignity and peace everywhere.”

Switzerland have won the competition twice before. The last time was in 1988, when Celine Dion won with her song, Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi.

The UK's Olly Alexander came 18th with his song, Dizzy. He received mixed reactions to his performance and received no points from the public vote. He had previously joked, "My odds for winning are at one per cent. But that’s fine. It’s better than zero.”

The evening took a strange turn early on when the Netherlands' entry, Joost Klein, was kicked out of the competition. It was alleged he

made threatening language during a disagreement with a female crew member backstage. He was disqualified by Eurovision organisers, the EBU (Eurovision Broadcasting Union).

Before the Grand Final started, the Netherlands announced they wouldn't give points to any other contestants.

“We do not feel the need to hand out the points of the Dutch jury,” they said in a statement. “We imagined this evening very differently.”

There were also reports that entrants from Ireland, Portugal, Switzerland and the UK had been in “crisis talks” with the EBU and were considering withdrawing from the competition after demanding Israel be disqualified from the competition.

When Israel’s entry Eden Golan performed, loud boos could be heard from the audience. Many of the audience turned their backs when Israel's delegate delivered her country's vote.