Taraji P. Henson to Host Time100 Special for ABC (Exclusive)

Time will return to ABC for 2024.

The annual Time100 gala, the offshoot of Time magazine’s annual Time 100 list, will once again be broadcast on ABC this year, the Disney network’s fifth year televising the event. The Color Purple star Taraji P. Henson will be this year’s host, with Michael J. Fox set to receive the annual Time Impact Award.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

The Time100: The World’s Most Influential People special will air on ABC Sunday May 12 at 10 p.m., and Time says that Dua Lipa and Fantasia Barrino will perform during the event. Patrick Mahomes, Maya Rudolph, Kelley Robinson, 21 Savage and other members of this year’s Time 100 list will also make special appearances. The annual Time 100 list was released this morning, with the annual gala set for April 25.

Time Studios is producing the ABC special in partnership with P&G. Scotch brand Glenfiddich is a supporting partner. Jeff Smith is the executive producer, joined by Time Studios chief Dave O’Connor, Jim Roush and Time CEO Jessica Sibley

“Time Studios is honored to continue our partnership with ABC to bring the Time100 Gala to a national primetime audience, so they can celebrate the inspiring stories of the world’s most influential people,” said O’Connor. “This will be a dynamic and entertaining show that brings together the artists, icons, pioneers, leaders and innovators whose collective works define our times and shape our future.”

Last year’s gala was hosted by White Lotus star Jennifer Coolidge, with performances from Doja Cat and Lea Michele, and Steven Spielberg receiving the Impact Award.

Best of The Hollywood Reporter