Terre Haute Police Department distributes annual awards

May 13—The Terre Haute Police Department honored its own Friday night with its 33rd Annual Awards and Commendation Dinner at the Terre Haute Convention Center.

Those in attendance at the annual event, sponsored by First Financial Bank, included officers from the police department and their families, department heads of the city, elected officials and other supporters.

Patrolman John Callahan was named Police Officer of the Year for 2023.

Dr. Jennifer Todd was awarded the prestigious Michael Dinkel Award for service to the Terre Haute Police Department and Terre Haute community.

Others receiving awards were:

—2023 Retirees: Chief Shawn Keen, Asst. Chief Mark Eldred, Lt. Kayle Pickens

—Exceptional Service Award for 30 Years of Service: Chief Kevin Barrett, Lt. Todd Haller, Sgt. Larry Manley

—Civilian Service: Jeremy Cuffle

—Unit Citation: Detective Josh Goldner, Detective Ryan Plasse

—Police Achievement: Detective Eric Atterson

—Individual Grand Cordon: Patrolman Anthony Damanis, Patrolman Andrew Jolliff

—Grand Cordon: Sgt. Tell Howson, Detective David Brewer, Patrolman Justin Coyle, Patrolman Justin Duke, Patrolman Dustin Cawthon, Patrolman Dallas Lakes

—Lifesaving Award: Patrolman Kyle Lex

—Gallantry Star: Detective Andrew Haley

—Combat Cross: Patrolman Adam Neese, Patrolman David Pounds.