Tinder’s Group Dating Feature Reveals Facebook Friends That Use The App, Raising Privacy Concerns

Swipe-to-date app Tinder has launched a group dating feature that enables users to join groups consisting of Facebook contacts, which are then matched with other social groups.

The ability to add friends to these groups without permission has raised privacy concerns by those who don’t necessarily want to broadcast their use of the app.

If users don’t wish to be added to a group without their knowledge, they must actively opt-out of the new feature.

Not including those who have opted out, the new feature will effectively tell users which of their Facebook friends have Tinder accounts.

‘Tinder Social’ is currently only in testing phase for a small number of users in Australia, though the company intends to launch the feature globally as soon as it’s perfected.

Described as “a fun new way to meet new people out with your friends”, users can add Facebook friends to a group and then match with other groups for a night out in order to meet more people.

In an update posted on its blog, Tinder confirmed that: “Any user who would prefer not to be added to groups can opt out of Tinder Social through his/her settings to no longer appear on their friends’ lists. We are only testing it at this point”.

Image credit: Tinder

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting