Tony awards 2019: When are they, who is hosting, and how to watch the ceremony

The 2019 Tonys are almost upon us – with actors such as Bryan Cranston, Adam Driver and Laurie Metcalf all in the running for this year’s awards.

This year’s ceremony is taking place in June from New York City’s Radio City Music Hall, as has been the case since 2017 after a temporary return to the Beacon Theatre.

Choir Boy, The Ferryman, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus​, Ink and What the Constitution Means to Me are all nominated in the Best Play category – while Aaron Sorkin’s To Kill a Mockingbird was notably snubbed.

Here is everything you need to know ahead of the 73rd Tony Awards:

When are the Tony Awards?

The 2019 Tonys will take place on Sunday, 9 June from 8 to 11pm ET / 11pm to 2am in the UK.

Who is hosting the ceremony?

James Corden is returning as host this year.

The English comedian (who won the Tony Award for Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play in 2012) hosted the Tonys for the first time in 2016.

How can I watch the Tony Awards?

In the US, the ceremony will be broadcast live on CBS on the East Coast from 8 to 11pm ET.

It will air with a delay on the West Coast from 8 to 11pm PT.

US viewers can also stream it live and on-demand on CBS All Access’s platforms.

In the UK, Elaine Paige will host a special programme covering the ceremony on BBC Radio 2.

Viewers around the world will also be able to follow The Independent‘s live blog for real-time updates.

Who are the nominees?

The musical Hadestown is leading this year’s Tony race with 14 nominations.

Ain’t Too Proud, a jukebox musical built around songs by The Temptations, follows with 12 nominations.

The best-play nominees are the Northern Irish drama The Ferryman, from Jez Butterworth; James Graham’s Ink, about Rupert Murdoch; Taylor Mac’s Broadway debut, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus; Tarell Alvin McCraney’s Choir Boy; and Heidi Schreck’s What the Constitution Means to Me, a personal tour of the landmark document at the heart of so many American divisions.

Nominees for best actor in a play include Paddy Considine from The Ferryman, Bryan Cranston in Network, Jeff Daniels in To Kill a Mockingbird, Adam Driver from Burn This and Jeremy Pope in Choir Boy. Pope is also up for a featured role in Ain’t Too Proud.

The category of best actress in a play includes Annette Bening in Arthur Miller’s All My Sons, Laura Donnelly in The Ferryman, Elaine May in The Waverly Gallery, Janet McTeer in Bernhardt/Hamlet, Metcalf in Hillary and Clinton and Schreck from What the Constitution Means to Me.

You can read more about this year’s nominees here.

Who are the presenters?

Darren Criss, Samuel L Jackson, and Regina King are all part of the first round of presenters announced on Thursday, 30 May.

Tina Fey, Sutton Foster, Ben Platt, Billy Porter, Laura Linney, Audra McDonald, Andrew Rannells, LaTanya Richardson Jackson and Michael Shannon will also present awards during the ceremony.

Additional reporting by agencies