All the Tory MPs standing down at the next general election

Sajid Javid, Ben Wallace and Dominic Raab are among those due to stand down
Sajid Javid, Ben Wallace and Dominic Raab are among those due to stand down

More Conservative MPs are standing down at the next general election than at any point since Labour’s landslide in 1997.

Fifty-seven Tories have now said they plan to quit Parliament rather than face re-election, with a poll expected in 2024.

There are fears the Conservatives are on track to suffer a heavy defeat, with The Telegraph’s poll of polls currently putting Labour at around 20 percentage points ahead of the governing party among voters.

These are all of the Tory MPs who have confirmed they will step aside:

Mike Penning

Sajid Javid

The MP for Bromsgrove since 2010, Mr Javid has served in six different Cabinet posts during the Tories’ time in power as culture secretary, business secretary, housing secretary, home secretary, chancellor and health secretary. He has remained on the back benches during Liz Truss and Rishi Sunak’s premierships.

Sir Charles Walker

Sir Charles, who sat as the chairman of the procedure committee between 2012 and 2019, emerged as one of the biggest lockdown sceptics in Parliament, carrying a milk bottle around Westminster to protest against restrictions. He was an arch-critic of Boris Johnson and Liz Truss, branding her government “an absolute disgrace” led by “a group of talentless people”.

Dehenna Davison

Ms Davison, 29, was elected as the first ever Tory MP for the ‘Red Wall’ seat of Bishop Aukland in its 134-year history at the 2019 general election. A minister at the Department for Levelling Up, she said on announcing her resignation she hadn’t had “anything like a normal life for a twenty-something”.

Sir Gary Streeter

Sir Gary is stepping down from Parliament after more than 30 years, having been the Tory MP for South West Devon since 1992.

William Wragg

Another strident critic of Boris Johnson, Mr Wragg has served as an MP since 2015 and chairs the influential public administration and accounts committee.

Adam Afriyie

Chloe Smith

Ms Smith, the MP for Norwich North since 2009, was one of Liz Truss’s most prominent backers, serving firstly as her work and pensions secretary and then as Rishi Sunak’s temporary science secretary during Michelle Donelan’s maternity leave.

Andrew Percy

Douglas Ross

Mr Ross, who is both an MP and a Member of the Scottish Parliament (MSP), currently leads the Scottish Tories. He has confirmed he will not seek re-election as an MP next time around.

Mark Pawsey

George Eustice

An MP since 2010, Mr Eustice was Mr Johnson’s environment secretary between 2020 and 2022.

Edward Timpson

Jo Gideon

Paul Beresford

Stephen McPartland

Robin Walker

A former education minister, Mr Walker is currently the chairman of the Commons education select committee.

Sir Graham Brady

Sir Graham has been the chairman of the influential 1922 Committee of backbenchers, who confirmed earlier this year he will no longer represent Altrincham and Sale after winning the seat in 1997.

Pauline Latham

Nicola Richards

Gordon Henderson

Craig Whittaker

Henry Smith

John Howell

Jonathan Djanogly

Matthew Offord

Alister Jack

The current Scottish Secretary, Mr Jack has confirmed he will stand down at the next election but ruled out accepting a peerage in Boris Johnson’s resignation honours list despite being nominated by the Prime Minister.

Sir Robert Goodwill

A former education, immigration and transport minister, Sir Robert is currently the chairman of the Commons environment, food and rural affairs select committee.

Richard Bacon

Dominic Raab

Mr Raab, the former deputy prime minister and justice secretary, cited “increasing concern” about pressure placed on his young family when he announced his intention to step down shortly after quitting the Cabinet over bullying claims from civil servants. He has also held the titles of Brexit secretary and foreign secretary.

Philip Dunne

Andy Carter

Will Quince

Royston Smith

Sir Bill Cash

Sir Bill, the MP for Stone in Staffordshire and an arch-Eurosceptic, has said it will be a “big wrench” to leave Parliament. Aged 83, he is the oldest member of the Commons.

Lucy Allan

Ms Allan, the MP for Telford in Shropshire since 2015, announced her intention to quit with a broadside at the Government, writing: “Today’s Conservative Party is just not interested in seats like Telford anymore.”

Steve Brine

Mr Brine, who broke lobbying rules in a WhatsApp exchange revealed by The Telegraph’s Lockdown Files investigation, said it was time for him to consider a “new chapter” in his life.

Greg Knight

Chris Clarkson

Ben Wallace

Mr Wallace, who has served as Defence Secretary since July 2019, has announced he will not fight the next election but ruled out leaving Parliament “prematurely”. He will also step down from his Cabinet role at the next reshuffle.

Tracey Crouch

Trudy Harrison

Stuart Andrew

Stephen Hammond

David Jones

Alok Sharma

The Tory former cabinet minister and Cop26 president, who led the United Nations climate change conference in Glasgow two years ago, said he will continue to champion “climate action” in Parliament for the remainder of his time as an MP.

Chris Grayling

The former transport secretary has been MP for Epsom and Ewell since 2001 and served in the Cameron and May administrations. He said he had been successfully treated for prostate cancer earlier this year, but the diagnosis had led him to decide it was “time for a change”.

John Baron

Dr Lisa Cameron

Sir James Duddridge

Jamie Wallis

Mike Freer

Nick Gibb

Oliver Heald

Sir Bob Neill

Kwasi Kwarteng

Mr Kwarteng, the former chancellor, announced on Feb 6 2024 he will stand down as an MP at the next general election.

Mr Kwarteng, who represents the constituency of Spelthorne, Surrey, said he had told his constituency association he would not stand at the next contest.

He wrote on X, formerly Twitter: “It has been an honour to serve the residents of Spelthorne since 2010, and I shall continue to do so for the remainder of my time in Parliament.”

Nickie Aiken

Nickie Aiken, the deputy chairman of the Conservative Party, announced she would stand down at the next general election on Feb 7.

Ms Aiken is married to Alex Aiken, the Government’s executive director of communications. It also emerged on Feb 7 that Mr Aiken will leave his post to take a job at the United Arab Emirates’s foreign ministry.

Tracey Crouch

Ms Crouch is a former minister who chaired a review of English football. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2020 and completed treatment the following year.

In a letter confirming her departure, she wrote: “The reasons for not wishing to stand are entirely personal and positive. While everyone’s cancer journey is different, for me going through a diagnosis and coming out the other side of treatment has been a life-affirming experience.

“It has been an opportunity to pause and reflect on my own personal priorities and based on that I truly believe it is time to seek a new professional challenge.”