The Tory MPs who voted against Rishi Sunak’s Brexit deal

All the Tory MPs voting against Rishi Sunak's Brexit deal
All the Tory MPs voting against Rishi Sunak's Brexit deal

Rishi Sunak’s new Brexit deal sailed through the House of Commons despite fears that the prime minister would face a major Tory revolt.

MPs voted overwhelmingly in favour of the Windsor Framework as it was backed by 515 to 29, a majority of 486.

Three former Tory leaders voted against Rishi Sunak’s Brexit deal as they joined Eurosceptics who warned it is not the right solution for Northern Ireland.

Here, The Telegraph takes a look at each of the 22 Conservative MPs who have opposed the Stormont Brake in a vote in Parliament.

Adam Afriyie

Adam Afriyie, one of the original so-called Spartans, voted against the agreement despite having welcomed it as the “last major Brexit hurdle” that “secures our United Kingdom”.

Jake Berry

The former Tory party chairman had not declared his intentions ahead of the vote, but is well known as a loyalist to both Boris Johnson and Liz Truss who opposed the deal.

Peter Bone

The former deputy Commons leader said that he was “pretty miffed” about the Government’s handling of the debate and vote on the Brexit deal.

Bill Cash

Sir Bill Cash drew up the European Research Group’s (ERG) legal analysis of the deal which was damning of the its key provisions, describing the Stormont Brake as “likely useless in practice”.

Christopher Chope

Sir Christopher Chope, another veteran Eurosceptic and member of the Spartans, also voted against the agreement.

Simon Clarke

Simon Clarke, a former levelling up secretary, said the Windsor agreement risked “cementing the imperfections” of the original Protocol and meant Northern Ireland was “still not being placed on a truly equal footing to Great Britain”.

Richard Drax

Richard Drax, a senior Brexiteer, delivered a speech to the Commons praising the agreement when it was struck for achieving “what many said could not be done” but ended up voting against it.

James Duddridge

Sir James Duddridge, a former trade minister, described the deal as a “betrayal of Brexit” and said the Government could not “polish a little brown thing”.

Iain Duncan Smith

Sir Iain Duncan Smith, a former Tory leader, was another senior member of the party to cast their ballot against ratifying the agreement.

Mark Francois

The chairman of the European Research Group said the deal did not stack up in reality and: “I’m afraid the Government have completely oversold it.”

Jonathan Gullis

Jonathan Gullis, a former education minister, had attended an ERG gathering the morning before the vote at which members had agreed to vote against the deal.

Adam Holloway

Adam Holloway, the MP for Gravesham, told The Telegraph upon leaving an ERG meeting on Wednesday that he would be voting against the Government.

Andrea Jenkyns

The MP for Morley and Outwood said she would be “right behind” Boris Johnson after he announced he would vote against the deal, slamming it as a “capitulation to the EU”.

Boris Johnson

The former prime minister described the deal as “unacceptable” telling the Telegraph it “would mean that the whole of the UK was unable properly to diverge and take advantage of Brexit”.

David Jones

David Jones, the deputy chairman of the ERG, said the agreement created “a situation where the United Kingdom could be subject to all the obligations of EU membership, without any benefits”.

Danny Kruger

Danny Kruger, the MP for Devizes, is another longstanding Brexiteer who also joined the rebellion against the Government.

Craig Mackinlay

Craig Mackinley, the MP for Thanet, described the agreement as “rather short” of what was required and added: “This has been rushed, it’s been oversold and I’m a little disappointed.”

Matthew Offord

Dr Matthew Offord, the MP for Hendon, voted against the agreement.

Priti Patel

Priti Patel, a former home secretary, told The Telegraph: “I will not be buying shares on the Government's smoke and mirrors on Windsor.”

John Redwood

Sir John Redwood, a veteran Eurosceptic, described the deal as “an invitation to the EU to push and push, to control more and more things, and for the UK to get angry about it just as we did when we were a member”.

Jacob Rees-Mogg

The former business secretary had said he could not support the deal, adding: “The Windsor Framework expects us to trust the EU. History tells us not to.”

Liz Truss

Liz Truss, another former prime minister, also voted against the deal arguing it “does not satisfactorily resolve the issues thrown up by the Protocol and almost fatally impinges on the UK’s ability to diverge from EU rules and regulations”.