UT Tyler mass communication students earn more than 30 awards at competition

TYLER, Texas (KETK) – UT Tyler proudly said that their mass communication students have won 34 awards at the 2024 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) Convention.

East Texas physician named new UT Tyler president

“Our mass communication students are doing amazing work, so it is gratifying to see them being recognized as among the very best in the state,” said UT Tyler lecturer and student media adviser, Danny Mogle.

TIPA is Texas’s largest college level mass communication organization and they regularly recognize students for their achievements in written journalism, photojournalism, broadcast journalism, videography, public relations and publication design.

The following UT Tyler student journalists won TIPA awards for on-site competitions:

  • Karleigh Yancy of Lindale – second place in radio news announcing.

  • Nayeli Carrillo of Tyler – third place in Spanish language radio news announcing.

  • Brynna Williamson of Mineola – honorable mention for feature writing.

State Sen. Nichols honored for ‘defending public education, opposing school vouchers’

These UT Tyler student journalists earned TIPA awards for their published work:

  • Nathan Witt, of Mineola

    • First and third place in social media breaking news.

    • First and third place in interactive ad design.

    • First and second place in static ad design.

    • Second place in feature photography, breaking news story, documentary and interactive ad design.

    • Honorable mention for feature story, in-depth reporting and podcast and advertising campaign.

    • Witt is the editor-in-chief of the Patriot Talon and he was elected as the vice president of the TIPA student board.

  • Brynna Williamson

    • First place in social media breaking news.

    • First place in in-depth reporting.

    • Honorable mention for breaking news story.

  • Luke Spence, of Tyler

    • First place in social media breaking news.

    • Second place in breaking news photo.

  • Abigail Smith, of Tyler

    • Second place in general news story.

    • Second place in program production video.

  • Paulina Mata, of New London

    • First place in critical review and Spanish language feature.

  • Elaina Gonzalez, of Tyler

    • Honorable mention for critical review and general column.

  • LaKyndra Larkin, of Flint

    • First place in general news audio story.

    • Second place in feature reporting video.

  • Ashod Gardin, of Willis

    • Honorable mention for sports commentary.

  • Jallen Sullivan, of Burleson

    • First place in multimedia sports story.

  • Santiago Nuñez, of Tyler

    • Second place in feature story.

  • Kai Kirkham, of Lockhart

    • Second place in cartoon strip.

  • Bart Hisel, of Tyler

    • Honorable mention for general graphic.

To stay up to date with all things UT Tyler check out the The Patriot Talon online.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to KETK.com | FOX51.com.