Vauxhall and Camberwell Green General Election result 2024 as Labour hold but Greens come second

Florence Eshalomi will be the new MP for Vauxhall and Camberwell Green
-Credit: (Image: UK Parliament)

Labour's Florence Eshalomi has been re-elected as MP for Vauxhall and Camberwell Green. Eshalomi, 43, won with 21,528 votes.

Green Party candidate Catherine Dawkins finished second, with 6,415 votes. Chris French, the Liberal Democrat candidate, was third with 4,549 votes. Aarti Joshi, the Conservative Party candidate, finished fourth with 2,809 votes.

Eshalomi was Labour MP for the now abolished constituency of Vauxhall until Parliament was dissolved at the end of May. At the 2019 election, she won 56.1 per cent of the vote.

READ MORE: London General Election results live: Jeremy Corbyn takes seat from Labour in huge swing

The new seat of Vauxhall and Camberwell Green covers the majority of the old Vauxhall constituency, as well as Newington and Camberwell Green. Areas in Lambeth included in the seat are Kennington, Myatt's Fields, Oval, Stockwell, and Waterloo and South Bank.

Eshalomi's victory was announced in the early hours of Friday (July 5) at The Lambeth Civic Centre in Brixton, South London where Labour also held Dulwich and West Norwood.

Don't miss out on the biggest South London news. Sign up to our MySouthLondon newsletter HERE for all the latest daily news and more.