Wirral West general election 2024 results in full

Wirral West was once considered a bellwether seat but that all changed in 2015.

That year, Labour won the seat with Margaret Greenwood defeating Conservative MP Esther McVey despite the party losing the general election. This bucked a trend dating back to 1983 where the seat always elected an MP from the party that won the election.

Since then, it has been held by Labour but now Ms Greenwood has stood down as MP, the field was thought to be wide open with five candidates putting themselves forward.

The seat has changed too with Conservative voting areas Heswall and Clatterbridge joining the constituency after boundary changes which could swing things in their favour. According to political forecaster Electoral Calculus, they think the Conservatives would have won the seat in 2015 and in 2019 under its new boundaries with Labour only winning it in 2017.

Five candidates are standing for this seat and you can see the results come in live using our special election tool.