Who are the winners at the Women in Film and TV Awards 2023? Meera Syal and Alison Hammond honoured

Meera Syal won a lifetime achievement gong (Ian West / PA Wire)
Meera Syal won a lifetime achievement gong (Ian West / PA Wire)

The 2023 Women in Film and Television Awards have been celebrating the best of women in UK film, TV, and digital media.

Hosted by Women in Film and Television UK, the annual awards, now in their 33st edition, celebrate the achievements of women in the industry across 14 different categories, including directors, writers, producers, project management, and other contributions to the medium.

This year, Meera Syal, Alison Hammond, Gbemisola Ikumelo and more won awards. Syal was awarded a lifetime achievement award, joining past winners including Judi Dench, Helen Mirren, and Glenda Jackson.

While Hammond won best presenter for her work on ITV’s This Morning and Channel 4’s The Great British Bake Off – and Gbemisola Ikumelo won the Argonon Best Performance Award for Famalam and Black Ops.

The awards show was presented by comedian Katherine Ryan. Lenny Henry presented Syal's award, with Carol Vorderman handing Hammond her gong.

Who are Women in Film and TV UK?

Women in Film and Television (WFTV) UK, was launched in 1990 by a group of women including Joan Collins, Janet Street-Porter, and Dawn French, with the aim of improving female representation in the industry.

Inspired by similar organisations in the US, they created a network of members and organised workshops, events, and mentoring to help them progress in their careers.

In 1990, the first Women in Film awards ceremony was held to recognise the achievements of successful women. More than 30 years on, the WFTV Awards is the largest annual celebration of women working in film, TV, and digital media in the UK.

The full list of winners 2023

Sanne Wohlenberg (producer, Andor): The ENVY Producer Award

Gbemisola Ikumelo (actor, Famalam, Black Ops): The Argonon Best Performance Award

Alison Hammond, presenter (This Morning, Great British Bake Off): The EIKON Presenter Award

Lynn Saunders (head of Liverpool Film Office, Liverpool City Council): The Mercury Business Award

Claire Ellis, senior dialogue editor, Molinare TV and Film: The MBS Equipment Co Craft Award

Louisa Compton, head of news and current affairs and specialist factual and sport at Channel 4: The BBC News and Factual Award

Tobi Kyeremateng, film and TV producer (How to be a Person): The Netflix New Talent Award

Georgie Emary, producer (24 Hours in Police Custody): The IMDb Project Management Award

Nina Hartstone, supervising sound editor (Saltburn, Bohemian Rhapsody): The Creative Technology Award

Grace Ofori-Attah, writer (Malpractice): The ScreenSkills Writing Award

Aoife McArdle, director (Severance): The BBC Studios Director Award

Tanya Motie and Ally Castle, Project Leads, The TV Access Project: The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award

Sarah Brewerton, Editor (Nolly, It’s a Sin): The Disney+ Contribution to the Medium Award

Meera Syal: The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award