Here's what time the 2018 Winter Olympics closing ceremony starts where you live

Alan Dawson
When is the Winter Olympics closing ceremony? What time does the closing ceremony start?

Getty Images


  • The closing ceremony is happening on Sunday night.
  • Korea is 14 hours ahead of New York, so it means an early start.
  • Europe gets to watch at around midday instead.

 

The 2018 Winter Olympics is coming to an end and the closing ceremony will take place at the Pyeongchang Olympic Stadium on February 25.

Like Pyeongchang's opening ceremony on February 9, the closing ceremony will include an elaborately choreographed routine that will bring together music, dance, and art. K-pop will undoubtedly feature. After all, it did not take long for the 2012 smash hit 'Gangnam Style,' by global sensation PSY, to play at the opening ceremony.

As Beijing hosts the next Winter Olympics in 2022, high-ranking officials like vice premier Liu Yandong and Beijing mayor Chen Jining will be present in Pyeongchang, according to South Korean newspaper The Chosun Ilbo.

Here are the closing ceremony start times in major cities across different time zones on Sunday, February 25:

  • Pyeongchang in South Korea (KST): 8 p.m.
  • New York (ET): 6 a.m.
  • Chicago (CT): 5 a.m.
  • Denver (MT): 4 a.m.
  • Las Vegas (PT): 3 a.m.
  • Los Angeles (PT): 3 a.m.
  • Honolulu (HAST): 1 a.m.
  • Sydney (AET): 10 p.m.
  • Tokyo (JST): 8 p.m.
  • Moscow (MSK): 2 p.m.
  • Paris (CEST): 12 p.m.
  • London (GMT): 11 a.m.

The Pyeongchang games has produced extraordinary stories. There has been a doping scandal in curling, a nightmarish wardrobe malfunction, and athletes who were struck down by the vomiting and diarrhoea bug norovirus.

There have also been wild successes — from the crowning of the oldest alpine ski champion to the Czech snowboarder who won gold in a different sport, the Super-G alpine ski event, when she borrowed a fellow athlete's skis.

Though the end is upon us, you can watch the grand finale live.

Here's how:

The closing ceremony for the 2018 Winter Olympics will be broadcast in the US on the NBC Olympics website, as well as the NBC Sports app at 6 a.m. ET / 3 a.m. PT.

BBC Two and the BBC online will air the final day's competitions at 6 a.m. local time through to the end of the closing ceremony at 2 p.m. Eurosport 1 will also broadcast the closing ceremony to UK audiences from 11 a.m.

NOW WATCH: JIM ROSS: Here's who will take over WWE after Vince McMahon

See Also: