Bath Rugby prop star Thomas du Toit gets Springboks recall

Prop star Thomas du Toit has been recalled by the Springboks ahead of their summer Test series with Ireland after an incredible first season with Bath Rugby.

Du Toit, who can play both tighthead and loosehead, was a stand-out player for Bath during the 2023/24 season which saw the club reach the Gallagher Premiership final, narrowly losing out 25-21 to Northampton Saints at Twickenham after playing for 58 minutes a man down after Beno Obano was shown a red card for a high tackle.

READ MORE: Bath Rugby confirm the departure of popular second-row forward

As well as his scrummaging prowess, du Toit has shown an uncanny ability to score close-range tries, notching 12 tries in his debut season in blue, black and white.

Despite being left out of the South Africa squad that won the Rugby World Cup in 2023, du Toit has now been recalled, with Ireland up first before the Springboks play in The Rugby Championship.

Ahead of his recall, du Toit told Planet Rugby: “I’ve made my aspirations clear. I’ll do anything to retain my jersey and there’s an exciting block of games this summer. I want to be involved and I know I’ve done everything in my power to get back, so I know that if they select me, it’s for the right reasons, but I also know if they don’t then there’s nothing more that I could do, and I’m entirely at comfort in that.”

South Africa squad

Forwards: Phepsi Buthelezi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Ben-Jason Dixon (DHL Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Thomas du Toit (Bath), Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks). Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Bulls), Vincent Koch (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Siya Kolisi (Racing 92), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears), Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92/Hollywoodbets Sharks), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Blu Revs), RG Snyman (Munster/Leinster), Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Bulls), Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Vodacom Bulls), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers)

Backs: Lukhanyo Am (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Damian de Allende (Wild Knights), Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins/Hollywoodbets Sharks), Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers), Cheslin Kolbe (Suntory Sungoliath), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), Wilie le Roux (Vodacom Bulls), Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers), Makazole Mapimpi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers), Cobus Reinach (Montpellier), Morne van den Berg (Emirates Lions), Edwill van der Merwe (Emirates Lions), Grant Williams (Hollywoodbets Sharks)