‘Griffin in Summer’ Tops Tribeca Festival Awards

Griffin in Summer won the Founders Award for best U.S. narrative feature as well as two additional awards at the 2024 Tribeca Awards: special jury mention for new narrative director for Nicholas Colia and best screenplay in a U.S. narrative feature, which also went to Colia.

Meanwhile, Bikechess won best international narrative feature, and Hacking Hate won best documentary feature. Don’t You Let Me Go won the 12th annual Nora Ephron Award, and Come Closer and Witches topped the first Viewpoints Competition.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

Additionally, Nnamdi Asomugha‘s The Knife won two awards: best new narrative director for Asomugha and best cinematography in a U.S. narrative feature (Alejandro Mejia).

Some Rain Must Fall also won two awards: best performance in an international narrative feature (Yu Aier) and best cinematography in an international narrative feature (Constanze Schmitt).

In the Tribeca X Award competition, One Good Reason won best short and the social impact award.

“After a banner year of Tribeca programming, I do not envy our jurors’ task of selecting this year’s winners,” Tribeca Festival director and senior, vp, programming Cara Cusumano said in a statement. “I’m delighted to see they’ve chosen to honor a diverse, international, adventurous group of films that truly reflect the Tribeca spirit. We can’t wait to continue to follow and support all these films’ journeys into the world.”

The winners and special jury mentions are selected by the 2024 festival jury members.

Some winners received the Tribeca Festival Art Award from a selection of artists led by curator Racquel Chevremont, who donated their work to honored filmmakers with the support of Chanel.

Winners of the Audience Award, determined by filmgoers’ votes throughout the festival, will be announced at a later date.

The 2024 Tribeca Festival runs through Sunday.

A full list of this year’s winners follows.


Founders Award for Best U.S. Narrative Feature: Griffin in Summer, director Nicholas Colia

Best Performance in a U.S. Narrative Feature: Jasmine Bearkiller Shangreaux for Jazzy

Special Jury Mention for Performance in a U.S. Feature: Joshua Burge for Vulcanizadora

Best Screenplay in a U.S. Narrative Feature: Nicholas Colia for Griffin in Summer

Best Cinematography in a U.S. Narrative Feature: Alejandro Mejia for The Knife

Special Jury Mention for Cinematography in a U.S. Feature: Ki Jin Kim for Bitterroot


Best International Narrative Feature: Bikechess, director Assel Aushakimova (Kazakhstan)

Special Jury Mention for an International Narrative Feature: Samia, director Yasemin Samdereli (Italy, Germany, Belgium, Sweden)

Best Performance in an International Narrative Feature: Yu Aier for Some Rain Must Fall (China)

Best Screenplay in an International Narrative Feature: Celina Murga, Juan Villegas, Lucía Osorio for The Freshly Cut Grass (Argentina, Uruguay, Mexico, United States)

Best Cinematography in an International Narrative Feature: Constanze Schmitt for Some Rain Must Fall (China)


Nnamdi Asomugha for The Knife (United States)

Special Jury Mention: Nicholas Colia for Griffin in Summer (United States)


Best Documentary Feature: Hacking Hate, director Simon Klose (Sweden, Denmark, Norway)

Special Jury Mention for a Documentary Feature: Made in Ethiopia, directors Xinyan Yu, Max Duncan (United States, Canada, Ethiopia, Denmark, Korea, United Kingdom)

Best Cinematography in a Documentary Feature: Ezra Wolfinger for Shelf Life (United States)

Best Editing in a Documentary Feature: Rupert Houseman for Antidote (United Kingdom)


Debra Aroko and Nicole Gormley for Searching for Amani (Kenya)

Special Jury Mention: Elizabeth Ai for New Wave (United States)


Come Closer, director Tom Nesher (Israel)

Special Jury Mention: Witches, director Elizabeth Sankey (United Kingdom)


Ana Guevara and Leticia Jorge for Don’t You Let Me Go (Uruguay)


Dust to Dust (Japan)


Best Narrative Short: Ripe!, director Tusk (United States, Spain)

Special Jury Mention for Narrative Short: Alarms, director Nicolas Panay (France)

Best Documentary Short: Makayla’s Voice: A Letter to the World, director Julio Palacio (United States)

Best Animated Short: In the Shadow of the Cypress, directors Shirin Sohani and Hossein Molayemi (Iran)

Special Jury Mention for Animated Short: Budō, directors Amanda Aagard and Alexander Toma (Sweden)

Best Music Video: Never Ending Song, performed by Conan Gray (United States)

Student Visionary Award: Nay Tabbara for Ebb & Flow (Lebanon, Qatar)

Special Jury Mention for Student Visionary: Jamie Perault for Budd, Sweat & Tearz (United Kingdom)


Goodnight Universe (United States)


Fiction Audio Storytelling Award: The Skies Are Watching (United States)

Narrative Nonfiction Audio Storytelling Award: Delejos (United States, Canada, Puerto Rico)

Independent Fiction Audio Storytelling Award: Red for Revolution (United States)

Independent Nonfiction Audio Storytelling Award: Back to the Water: More than One Octopus (South Africa, United States)

Special Jury Mention for Independent Fiction Audio Storytelling: Going Reno (United States)


Lilian T. Mehrel for Honeyjoon


Best Commercial: “Michael CeraVe” from CeraVe and Ogilvy PR, directed by Tim Heidecker and Eric Wareheim

Best Feature: Audrey’s Children from UTA and Ronald McDonald House Charities, directed by Ami Canaan Mann

Best Episodic: “The Santa Stories” from Coca-Cola and WPP Open X/VML, directed by Steven Caple Jr. and Bryce Dallas Howard

Best Short: One Good Reason from ServiceNow, Tribeca Studios and directors Perri Peltz and Matthew O’Neill

Best Games & Immersive: MLB The Show Storylines: The Negro Leagues by PlayStation Studios, directed by Jarred Schiff, Gavin Filipiak, Ramone Russell and Brandon Akiaten

Best Audio: “Science Will Win” by Pfizer

Best Content Creator: Jacksonville Jaguars 2023 Schedule Release Video from the Jacksonville Jaguars, directed by Asher Grodman

Social Impact Award: One Good Reason from ServiceNow, Tribeca Studios and directors Perri Peltz and Matthew O’Neill

Environmental Impact Award: “Project Maji: Waters of Change Vr Experience” from Born Studios and directors Bilge Tekin, Dominic Clarke and Nicholas Masters-Waage

Best of The Hollywood Reporter