All the Leicester and Leicestershire General Election 2024 candidates

After months of speculation, Britain finally has a date for when it will be going to the polls. A little over two weeks ago, Prime Minister Rishi Sunak declared the 2024 General Election will be held on Thursday, July 4.

Nominations for each of Leicestershire's ten constituencies closed today. Now, the final lists of all the candidates who will be vying for your vote have been published.

Each of the county's 10 MPs elected in 2019 will battling it out to retain their seat for the next Parliament. In Leicester, that is two for Labour, Liz Kendall and Jon Ashworth, and one independent, Claudia Webbe.

READ MORE: What is my General Election 2024 constituency?

Leicestershire had six Conservative MPs – Edward Argar, Alberto Costa, Luke Evans, Jane Hunt, Alicia Kearns and Neil O'Brien. The seventh county seat was held by former Conservative – and briefly Reclaim – MP Andrew Bridgen who finished the term and will be running as an independent. All seats become vacant when Parliament is dissolved.

There are also some changes to Parliamentary boundaries this year which mean one of Leicestershire's 2019 MPs will be battling for a seat across the border this time around, and a whole new constituency - Mid Leicestershire - has been formed. Alicia Kearn's Rutland and Melton seat will be split, with Rutland and a small section of Leicestershire, including the villages of Houghton-on -the-Hill, Thurnby and Bushby, and parts of Scraptoft and Billsdon moving over the Lincolnshire border to join with Stamford.

Meanwhile, Melton will join areas that currently belong to the Charnwood seat to form a newly named Melton and Syston constituency. Mid Leicestershire will absorb the remaining parts of Charnwood and will also take areas of Luke Evans' Bosworth seat and Alberto Costa’s South Leicestershire seat. A full breakdown of the changes can be found here.

This General Election race has also seen the return of former Leicester MP Keith Vaz who declared his candidacy for Leicester's newest party, One Leicester, today. We have updated this article with the final lists of candidates in each constituency.

Leicester East

Malihah Adam - Independent

Nags Agath - Independent

Rajesh Agrawal – Labour

Zuffar Haq – Liberal Democrats

Mags Lewis – Green Party

Khandu Patel - Independent

Shivani Raja - Conservative Party

Raj Solanki – Reform UK

Keith Vaz - One Leicester

Claudia Webbe – Independent

Leicester South

Shockat Adam – Independent

Ezechiel Adlore - The Official Monster Raving Loony Party

Osman Ghani Admani - Independent

Jon Ashworth – Labour

Anna Green - Communist Party of Britain

Craig Harwood – Reform UK

Geraldine Hickton - Conservatives Party

Sharmen Rahman – Green Party

Carol Weaver – Liberal Democrats

Leicester West

Aasiya Bora - Green Party

Max Chauhan - Conservative Party

Benjamin Feist – Liberal Democrats

Ian Edward Hayes – Reform UK

Liz Kendall – Labour

Rahoul Naik - One Leicester

Steve Score - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition (Tusc)

Harborough, Oadby and Wigston

Danuta Bernadette Jeeves – Reform UK

Phil Knowles – Liberal Democrat

Robin Lambert – Social Democratic Party

Neil O'Brien – Conservative

Hajira Hanif Piranie – Labour

Darren Woodiwiss – Green Party

Hinckley and Bosworth

Peter Alan Cheshire – Reform UK

Dr Luke Evans – Conservatives

Harry Masters - Independent

Michael Mullaney – Liberal Democrats

Rebecca Louise Pawley – Labour

Cassie Wells - Green Party


Jane Hunt - Conservative

Andy McWilliam – Reform UK

Jeevun Sandher – Labour

Ian Robert Sharpe – Liberal Democrats

Hans Zollinger-Ball – Green Party

Melton and Syston

Edward Argar – Conservatives

Marilyn Mary Gordon - Independent

Zafran Khan – Labour

Teck Khong – Alliance for Democracy and Freedom

Andy Konieczko – Liberal Democrats

Alastair McQuillan – Green Party

Pete Morris – Reform UK

Matt Shouler - Rejoin EU

Mid Leicestershire

Peter Bedford – Conservative

Ian Bradwell – Liberal Democrats

Tony Deakin – Green Party

Robert Martin – Labour

Tom Smith – Reform UK

North West Leicestershire

Carl Benfield – Green Party

Andrew Bridgen – Independent

Alice Delemare - Liberal Democrats

Siobhan Dillon - Unspecified

Amanda Hack – Labour

Noel Matthews – Reform UK

Craig Smith – Conservative

South Leicestershire

Alberto Costa – Conservative

Paul Hartshorn – Liberal Democrats

Mike Jelfs – Green Party

Robert Parkinson - Labour Party

Bill Piper – Reform UK