List of MPs quitting cabinet, including Priti Patel and Nadine Dorries

·2-min read
List of MPs quitting cabinet, including Priti Patel and Nadine Dorries

Liz Truss’ appointment as prime minister has triggered another wave of ministerial resignations, as the new leader prepares to assign cabinet roles.

Ms Truss visited the Queen at Balmoral on Tuesday, where she was officially appointed prime minister, after beating out rival Rishi Sunak on Monday.

With a reshuffle due shortly, some members of the current top team including Conservative Party’s co-chair Ben Elliot have stepped down in anticipation of any changes.

With Ms Truss now in full power, here is a look at the list of recent MP resignations.

Home Secretary Priti Patel

Priti Patel announced her resignation in a letter to outgoing PM Boris Johnson in which she disclosed she would give Ms Truss her support from the back benches.

She also defended the controversial Rwanda policy, saying: “It is vital your successor backs all aspects of these policies on illegal immigration to ensure the full implementation and delivery of the new plan.”

The Witham MP became the Home Secretary in 2019. It has been widely reported that Ms Patel was not expected by Ms Truss to remain in her position. However, Ms Patel claimed leaving the cabinet was “her choice”.

Culture Secretary Nadine Dorris

Nadine Dorries is stepping down after leading the culture department since 2021. The Mid Bedfordshire MP has been a strong ally of Mr Johnson, and according to the BBC, she has been asked to stay on but wants to return to writing books.

Ms Dorries is the author of a series of novels including the best-selling Four Streets, which she based on her experience growing up in Liverpool.

As Culture Secretary, she promoted the Online Safety Bill, to tackle “legal but harmful” content online. Ms Dorries also insisted on privatising Channel 4 but no plans have been finalised yet.

Minister of State Nigel Adams

Following the election of Ms Truss as Leader of the Conservative Party, Nigel Adams resigned his position as Minister of State without Portfolio.

While congratulating Ms Truss in his resignation letter, he wrote: “It is important that a new PM is able to appoint a team based on who they want, rather than who they inherit”.

The Selby & Ainsty MP has previously announced he plans to step down at the next general election, wanting to spend time on other interests.

Home Office Security Minister Stephen McPartland

Stephen McPartland presented his resignation yesterday as the Home Office Security Minister, which reads: “I have been clear in the over 12 years that I have been in Parliament that I do not seek ministerial office.

“I was asked to serve in an interim period to protect national security, make progress on the National Security Bill and Economic Crime Bill Part Two”.

The MP for Stevenage added that he, “has relinquished the intellectual challenge of Bill Committee,” but, “it is time to step aside for someone who wants to pursue the role on a more permanent basis”.