How many countries in Eurovision final? Acts go for victory in Malmo contest

Windows95man from Finland at Eurovision
Windows95man from Finland at Eurovision -Credit:Getty Images

After months and months of preparation, the time has come for the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Malmo is now in full swing and, with both semis done and dusted, all focus is on Saturday's grand final. And there has been some last ditch drama, as the Netherlands were disqualified with just hours to go.

It's now been four years since their was heartbreak for fans of the annual event, when the 2020 competition was cancelled because of the Covid pandemic, before making a triumphant return in Rotterdam a year later. Over the last few years victories have gone the way of Italy, Ukraine and Sweden, with Loreen winning in Liverpool last year.

Her victory means that Sweden are on hosting duty this time round, with acts and delegations descending en masse over the last few weeks to rehearse in the arena, before viewers across the world got their first look at this year's Eurovision acts in action on Tuesday in the first semi final.

READ MORE: Why were Netherlands disqualified from Eurovision? Joost Klein 'banned' from final

Get all the latest TV and showbiz news and gossip from Chronicle Live with our free newsletter.

Eurovision semi final 1 included well fancied acts like Croatia's Baby Lasagna, alyona alyona & Jerry Heil from Ukraine and Ireland's Bambie Thug. Ten countries made it through from both Tuesday's heat and the second on Thursday evening, to join the UK, France, Spain, Italy, Germany and Sweden in the final. However, one of those - the Netherlands - will now not take part after being disqualified.

How many countries in Eurovision 2024 final?

There will be now be 25 taking to the stage at the Eurovision 2024 final on Saturday, May 11: The Big 5, host nation Sweden, 10 qualifiers from semi final 1 and 10 from semi final 2.

In running order they are:

1. Sweden: Marcus & Martinus - Unforgettable

2. Ukraine: alyona alyona & Jerry Heil - Teresa & Maria

3. Germany: Issak - On The Run

4. Luxembourg: Tali - Fighter

5. Israel: Eden Golan - Hurricane

6. Lithuania: Silvester Belt - Luktelk

7. Spain: Nebulossa - Zorra

8. Estonia: 5miinust & Puuluup - (nendest) narkootikumidest ei tea me (küll) midagi

9. Ireland: Bambie Thug - Doomsday Blue

10. Latvia: Dons - Hollow

11. Greece: Marina Satti - Zari

12. United Kingdom: Olly Alexander - Dizzy

13. Norway: Gåte - Ulveham

14. Italy: Angela Mango - Le Noia

15. Serbia: Teya Dora - Ramonda

16. Finland: Windows95 Man - No Rules

17. Portugal: Iolanda - Grito

18. Armenia: Ladaniva - Jako

19. Cyprus - Silia Kapsis - Liar

20. Switzerland: Nemo - The Code

21. Slovenia: Raiven - Veronika

22. Croatia: Baby Lasagna - Rim Tim Tagi Dim

23. Georgia: Nutsa Buzaladze - Firefigher

24. France: Slamine - Mon Amour

25. Austria: Kaleen: We Will Rave