The most successful World Cup champions in history

France's Olivier Giroud holds up the trophy as he celebrates with teammates at the end of the final match between France and Croatia at the 2018 soccer World Cup in the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia, Sunday, July 15, 2018. (AP Photo/Rebecca Blackwell)
France's Olivier Giroud holds up the trophy as he celebrates with teammates their victory at the 2018 World Cup. (Getty) (ASSOCIATED PRESS)

Anyone born in England already knows they have only won the World Cup once.

After coming close in the last World Cup and the 2020 Euros, many England fans have high hopes for the 2022 tournament.

Not many countries have won the World Cup.

Only eight teams have been lucky enough to lift the trophy, three from South America (nine titles) and five from Europe (twelve titles).

Brazil is in the lead with five titles, with Germany and Italy close behind at four.

Qualifying this year has been different, with Germany and Brazil straight into the group stage but Italy out of the competition all together.

Uruguay was the first team to win the World Cup and have two titles under their belt.

England has only won once, in 1966. (Getty)
England has only won once, in 1966. (Getty) (- via Getty Images)

But they are also the winning team who have had to wait for the longest for their next win with their last victory in the 1950s.

They came fourth in 2010.

England isn't much better, who only won in 1966, and since then they have never reached a final.

Argentina, a two-time champion, has also failed to repeat the feat of the 1978 and 1986 teams.

Under Messi’s command, the team did reach the final of the 2014 World Cup but were defeated by Germany.

Check the World Cup title count below

  • Brazil: 5 titles (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002)

  • Germany: 4 titles (1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014)

  • Italy: 4 titles (1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006)

  • Argentina: 2 titles (1978 and 1986)

  • Uruguay: 2 titles (1930 and 1950)

  • France: 2 titles (1998 and 2018)

  • Spain: 1 title (2010)

  • England: 1 title (1966)