Nottinghamshire general election candidate working with police after threats made against her

Saj Ahmad, Labour's candidate in Newark
-Credit: (Image: Local Democracy Reporting Service)

A Nottinghamshire general election candidate says she has been working with police after receiving threats to her personal safety. Saj Ahmad, standing as the Labour Party candidate in Newark, says she is pulling out of upcoming election campaign events as a result of the threats.

Labour's candidate, who also sits as a member of Nottingham City Council, said in a statement on X posted late on Wednesday (June 26): "As we approach polling day, I have had threats made to my personal safety.

"These incidents have been reported to the police who are taking appropriate action. I would like to thank them for their reassuring support. I have taken action to ensure the safety of my team and our volunteers.

Get the latest general election updates and results straight to your phone

"The nasty actions of a misguided few are designed to despoil our democracy, which should be free from abuse and threats. The safety of myself and those around me has to be of the utmost priority.

"Therefore, in the light of recent events, I will not be attending certain open events during the rest of the election campaign where safety could be endangered. This will not deter me from making myself as open and accessible to people as possible."

Referring to the experience shared by Councillor Ahmad, as well as Labour's candidate in the Leicestershire seat of Harborough, Oadby & Wigston, Nottingham City Council's leader, Councillor Neghat Khan, said: "Today, I've seen posts sharing stories from women, who I am proud to call friends and colleagues standing to be MPs, where their safety has been threatened during this election campaign.

"It's unacceptable, misogynistic, often racist. Solidarity." Below are all the candidates, presented in alphabetical order by surname, for Newark.


Michael Ackroyd


Saj Ahmad

Independent Network

Adrian Amer

English Democrats

Matthew Darrington


Lyn Galbraith


Robert Jenrick


Robert Palmer

Workers Party of Britain

Collan Siddique

Liberal Democrats

David Watts