Parliament Backs Brexit Deal Delay

British members of parliament voted to withhold approval of Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s Brexit deal on Saturday, October 19, until legislation to legally implement it has been passed.

Lawmakers voted by 322 to 306 for the “Letwin amendment” which was put forward by independent MP Oliver Letwin and backed by cross-party colleagues.

Johnson had hoped Saturday’s parliamentary session would see MPs vote on his reworked Brexit deal agreed with the European Union (EU) earlier this week.

The prime minister may be legally obliged to request a Brexit extension from the EU beyond October 31, but told parliament that he would not negotiate another delay.

In response, Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn said, “He must now obey the law – there cannot be a No Deal crash out from the European Union.” Credit: Parliament TV via Storyful