7 / 10
Tame Impala - Lonerism Australian psychedelic rockers Tame Impala have scaled new heights with Lonerism, their follow-up to 2010's critically acclaimed debut Innerspeaker. Lead vocalist, songwriter and guitarist Kevin Parker, along with Dominic Simper, Nick Allbrook, Jay Watson and Julien Barbagallo have impressed with the scale of the album's vision and its breathtaking soundscapes. Opener Be Above It draws the listener in with its psychedelic vibe and Parker's dreamy vocals, and it gets better and better. With immaculate musicianship, the songs demand total attention, most notably on the brilliant Endors Toi, Apocalypse Dreams and Elephant. An absolute triumph from start to finish (Rex Features)

Year in Review: Top 10 Albums of 2012

This year newcomers Jessie Ware and Emeli Sande shot to fame while more seasoned acts returned with triumphant efforts. Take a look at our best albums of 2012.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes