Which Solihull seat will you be voting in this general election?

Solihull town centre.
-Credit: (Image: Sam Greenway LDR)

Next week's general election will be the first contested following boundary changes - but do you know which seat you will be voting in? It is all change for this election as Solihull is now split into three new constituencies. They are:

  • Solihull West and Shirley

  • Meriden and Solihull East

  • Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North

The traditional Solihull seat - which dates back to the 1940s and has traditionally been a Conservative stronghold - is the seat becoming Solihull West. In the 2019 general election that seat was won by the Conservatives. Meanwhile the former Meriden seat - which traditionally had been Conservative but did have periods in the 1950s, 60s and 70s when it was held by Labour - is the seat becoming Meriden and Solihull East. That seat was also won by the Tories at the 2019 election.

READ MORE: Alcohol licence granted for Solihull convenience shop despite furious residents' objections

Most areas of the borough will automatically switch from Solihull to Solihull West, and from Meriden to the new Meriden and Solihull East - but there are some wards which won’t. Here is full list of wards and which seat its residents will now vote in:

Birmingham Hodge Hill and Solihull North

  • Castle Bromwich

  • Smith’s Wood

Meriden and Solihull East

  • Bickenhill

  • Chelmsley Wood

  • Dorridge and Hockey Heath

  • Elmdon

  • Kingshurst and Fordbridge

  • Knowle

  • Meriden

  • Silhill

Solihull West and Shirley

  • Blythe

  • Lyndon

  • Olton

  • Shirley East

  • Shirley South

  • Shirley West

  • St Alphege

-Credit:House of Commons Library
-Credit:House of Commons Library

The new boundaries were confirmed by the Boundary Commission for England last year after a lengthy process which included consultations with the public. Seats were drawn up to equalise the population in each area.

Overall the West Midlands government region lost two constituencies taking it from 59 to 57 seats in parliament. The polling card which has been sent out to homes will confirm to voters which parliamentary constituency they will be voting in, and where to vote.

Polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm on polling day, Thursday July 4. For the first time in a general election those voting will need to show photographic ID.

For more stories from across Solihull including BHX, breaking news, politics and what's on, sign up to our MySolihull newsletter