Tory leadership result: When will the Conservative Party vote for the new Prime Minister?

Telegraph Reporters
Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt are currently campaigning at Conservative Party hustings around the UK. - Getty Images

The race to replace Theresa May as leader of the Conservative Party continues, as Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt faced off in the contest's first head-to-head leadership debate on Tuesday night last week.

On 6 July, voting opened up to the Conservative Party's 160,000 members, who will choose the winner. The final deadline for party members to vote falls the week ending Sunday 21 July.

The candidate achieving more than 50 per cent of the vote among Party members will be declared Leader of the Party. The winner, and new Prime Minister, is expected to be announced on July 23. The following day, July 24, Theresa May will speak at her final Prime Minister's Questions before heading to Buckingham Palace to resign as Prime Minister to the Queen.

Read more on the final two leadership candidates' final policy pledges here, and read more on their Brexit views and key supporters here.

You can read the latest odds and polls on who the next Prime Minister will be here.

What is the timing for the leadership selection process?

The process to select a new leader took place in the form of four rounds of voting with leadership hustings in between.

Thursday, 13 June

Tory MPs cast their first votes of the contest with three candidates, Esther McVey, Andrea Leadsom and Mark Harper, eliminated.

Sunday, 16 June

Channel 4 hosted the first publicly televised leadership hustings in front of a studio audience.

Monday 17 June

11am Five of the six leadership candidates (not Boris Johnson) answered questions from 100 political journalists in the Parliamentary Press Lobby hustings

3pm All six contenders grilled by backbench Conservative MPs in the final MPs' hustings of the contest

Tuesday 18 June

3pm - 5pm Conservative MPs vote in the second round of the leadership contest. 

6pm Results announced. Dominic Raab is eliminated with 30. Sajid Javid just made it with 33 votes. The remainder of votes for candidates who will take part in the BBC debate were as follows: Boris Johnson - 126. Michael Gove - 41. Jeremy Hunt 46. Rory Stewart - 37.

8pm Boris Johnson joined remaining leadership candidates for a BBC debate hosted by Emily Maitlis.

Wednesday 19 June

3pm - 5pm MPs vote in the third round of the leadership contest. 

6pm Result announced - Rory Stewart is eliminated with 27 votes. Sajid Javid attracted 38 votes, Michael Gove, 51, Jeremy Hunt, 54, and Boris Johnson, with the same number of votes as the next best three combined, 143.

Thursday 20 June

10am - 12pm MPs vote in the fourth round of the leadership contest

1pm Result announced - Sajid Javid is eliminated with 34 votes. Jeremy Hunt received 59 votes, Michael Gove 61, and Boris Johnson 157.

3.30pm - 5.30pm MPs vote in the fifth round of the leadership contest. 

6pm The final two candidates, Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt, are announced.  The contest then opens up to the party membership. 

Saturday 22 June

The first of 16 membership hustings will begin in Birmingham, with the final two candidates taking part in a head-to-head debate in front of Tory activists.


These are the details of the remaining hustings: 

June 22: West Midlands

June 27: South 

June 28: South West

 June 29 (afternoon): Lakes and Borders,

June 29 (evening): North West 

July 4 (evening): Yorkshire and Humber

July 5 (morning): North East

July 5 (evening): Scotland

July 6 (morning): East Midlands

July 6 (evening): Wales 

July 11 (evening): South East

July 12 (evening): Gloucestershire

July 13 (morning): East Anglia

July 13 (afternoon): Eastern

July 17 (evening): London

Northern Ireland, TBC;

Conservative Party members received their postal ballots between 6-8 July, with the final deadline falling the week ending Sunday 21 July. Each candidate’s spending will be capped at £150,000.

Monday, 22 July

Following a month-long contest, Tory officials tally up the tens of thousands of votes cast by party members, before declaring the new prime minister.