St Helens North general election 2024 candidates

A general view of Earlestown Town Hall
-Credit: (Image: Andrew Teebay/Liverpool Echo)

St Helens North has been a Labour stronghold since it was established in 1983.

The constituency is one of two covering the metropolitan borough of St Helens - the other is St Helens South and Whiston. As the name suggests, it covers the north of the borough, including parts of the town of St Helens, Billinge, Seneley Green, Earlestown, Blackbrook, Haydock, Newton-le-Willows and Rainford.

At the last general election, Labour's Conor McGinn was re-elected to represent St Helens North with a 52.3% majority. Mr McGinn had served as the seat's MP from 2015 but announced he would not stand in this election, having been suspended by Labour in 2022 and leaving the party the following year.

READ MORE: Who is Keir Starmer's wife? All you need to know about Lady Victoria Starmer

READ MORE: The Liverpool City Region General Election 2024 survey: Tell us how you feel about NHS, immigration, Keir Starmer and more

The former leader of St Helens Council David Baines will represent Labour in the constituency at this election. Below, we take you through all the candidates you can vote for if you live in St Helens North.

The candidates

David Baines - Labour

Joe Greenhalgh - English Constitution Party

Pat Maloney - Liberal Democrats

Jayne Louise Rear - Conservative

Daniel Thomas - Green

Malcolm James Webster - Reform UK

The Liverpool Daily Post newsletter delves into the biggest stories on Merseyside

Win an Adidas Euro 2024 replica ball in our fantastic prize giveaway