Warning to anyone who still has a red passport

A 'red' British passport
A 'red' British passport -Credit:Anthony Devlin/PA Wire

Holidaymakers have been denied boarding at the airport due to a small passport detail they may be unaware of.

After Brexit, most European Union countries no longer accept British passports issued more than 10 years before the date of travel, in what is known as the '10-year rule'.

If you are a national from a country outside the EU wishing to visit or travel within the EU, you will need a valid passport and possibly a visa. Your passport should be valid for at least three months after the date you intend to leave the EU and it must have been issued within the last 10 years.

READ MORE: Turkey warning as Foreign Office changes travel advice for UK visitors

READ MORE: Liverpool's next mini heatwave is predicted to last an entire week

This means your travel document must have been issued within the previous 10 years the day you entered the EU on the condition that it is valid until the end of your stay plus an additional three months.

These rules apply in 29 European countries:

  1. Austria

  2. Belgium

  3. Bulgaria

  4. Croatia

  5. Czechia

  6. Denmark

  7. Estonia

  8. Finland

  9. France

  10. Germany

  11. Greece

  12. Hungary

  13. Italy

  14. Latvia

  15. Lithuania

  16. Luxembourg

  17. Malta

  18. Netherlands

  19. Poland

  20. Portugal

  21. Romania

  22. Slovakia

  23. Slovenia

  24. Spain

  25. Sweden

  26. Iceland

  27. Liechtenstein

  28. Norway

  29. Switzerland

It costs £88.50 to renew or replace your passport if you apply online or £100 if you fill in a paper form.

Win the ultimate CBeebies experience at Alton Towers Resort, including an overnight-themed sleepover!

Enter our £1,000 Aldi voucher giveaway and go wild in the aisles