Candidates for Lancaster university ward by-election on same day as national vote

Lancaster Town Hall
-Credit: (Image: LDRS)

The names of people standing in a Lancaster City Council by-election to represent the university area have been announced.

The University ward by-election was called following the recent resignation of Labour councillor Erin Hall, a former Lancaster University student elected in 2023 who is moving away. Green Coun Tom Fish remains the ward’s other city councillor.

The by-election will take place on Thursday July 4, which is the same day as the UK general election. Polling stations will be at the Chaplaincy Centre on Bowland Avenue East, Lancaster, and the Brandrigg Room at Barker House Farm at Cartmel West Avenue.

Maria Holly Deery is standing for the Green Party, Matthew Joseph Maxwell-Scott is the Conservative Party candidate, Anya Veronica Wilkison-Leishman is the Labour Party candidate and Thomas Willis is standing for the Liberal Democrats,

Only recently, another Lancaster University student took her seat at Lancaster City Council. That was Green Party Coun Isabella Metcalf-Reiner, known as Izzy, who won the Castle ward by-election. Elsewhere, the recent Carnforth and Milhead by-election saw Labour’s Jackson Stubbs elected to the city council.

General Election candidates

Meanwhile for the general election, candidates have been announced for the Lancaster and Wyre and the neighbouring Morecambe and Lunesdale consitituencies. They include a number of city or county councillors from different parties – including Jack Lenox, Gina Dowding, Peter Jackson and Lizzi Colinge – along with others including Cat Smith and David Morris, who were both MPs for the area until the general election was announced.

For Lancaster and Wyre, the Westminster candidates are Nigel Alderson for Reform UK, Peter Gordon Cartridge for the Conservative Party, Jack Lenox for the Green Party, Matt Severn for the Lib-Dems and Cat Smith for Labour.

In the Morecambe and Lunesdale constituency, the candidates are Lizzi Collinge for the Labour Party, Gina Dowding for the Green Party, Peter Jackson for the Lib-Dems and David Thomas Morris for the Conservative Party.

Polling stations will be open across the Lancaster, Morecambe and Heysham district on July 4. Lancaster City Council has more information and advice for all the elections, including the need for photo ID and arrangements for postal and proxy voting.