HBO announces which of its stars will be in contention for Emmy nominations

Jacob Stolworthy

HBO has confirmed which of its stars will be in contention for Emmy nominations.

This year's contenders will be announced on 12 July with the premium cable network throwing themselves into the race with shows including Westworld, The Deuce and Game of Thrones which returns having been ineligible for the 2017-18 awards.

The one notable absence for the 2018-19 awards, however, is regular winner Veep. Still, the comedy category remains a strong one thanks to Curb Your Enthusiasm, Silicon Valley and new acclaimed series Barry.

Game of Thrones-wise, the cast members that HBO is throwing its weight behind include Emilia Clarke (Daenerys), Kit Harington (Jon Snow) and Lena Headey (Cersei) while the Westworld stars in contention will be Evan Rachel Wood, Jeffrey Wright and more including two yet-to-be-announced guest stars who we're hoping will be Zahn McClarnon.

One person who's expected to not only earn a nomination but earn an eventual win is Laura Dern for her portrayal of a sexual abuse survivor in Jennifer Fox's biographical TV Movie The Tale.

Cast your eyes on all the shows and stars whose names may be mentioned in a few week's time. It should be noted that personal reps are permitted to submit those HBO has chosen to omit.



Comedy Actor – Dwayne Johnson

Comedy Supporting Actress – Emayatzy Corinealdi, Jazmyn Simon, Serinda Swan

Comedy Supporting Actor – London Brown, Donovan Carter, Rob Corrdry, Troy Garity, Steve Guttenberg, Omar Miller, Richard Schiff, John David Washington

Comedy Guest Actress – Brittany Hall

Comedy Guest Actor – Peter Berg


Comedy Actor – Bill Hader

Comedy Supporting Actress – Sarah Goldberg, Paula Newsome

Comedy Supporting Actor – Anthony Carrigan, Glenn Fleshler, Steven Root, Henry Winkler


Comedy Actor – Pete Holmes

Comedy Supporting Actress – Jamie Lee

Comedy Supporting Actor – George Basil, Artie Lange

Comedy Guest Actor – Bill Burr

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Comedy Actor – Larry David

Comedy Supporting Actress – Susie Essman, Cheryl Hines

Comedy Supporting Actor – Bob Einstein, Jeff Garlin, Richard Lewis, J.B. Smoove

Comedy Guest Actress – Elizabeth Banks, Lauren Graham, Elizabeth Perkins, June Diane Raphael

Comedy Guest Actor – F. Murray Abraham, Bryan Cranston, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Joe Regalbuto, Steven Weber


Comedy Actress – Sarah Jessica Parker

Comedy Actor – Thomas Haden Church

Comedy Supporting Actress – Talia Balsam, Molly Shannon

Comedy Supporting Actor – Tracy Letts

Comedy Guest Actress – Amy Sedaris

High Maintenance

Comedy Actor – Ben Sinclair

Comedy Guest Actor – Luzer Twersky

Comedy Guest Actress – Alex Auder, Danielle Brooks, Kate Lyn Sheil, Yael Stone


Comedy Actress – Issa Rae

Comedy Supporting Actress – Yvonne Orji, Natasha Rothwell

Comedy Supporting Actor – Jay Ellis

Room 104

Comedy Guest Actress – Sarah Hay

Comedy Guest Actor – Philip Baker Hall, James VanDer Beek

Silicon Valley

Comedy Actor – Thomas Middleditch

Comedy Supporting Actress – Amanda Crew, Suzanne Cryer

Comedy Supporting Actor – Josh Brener, Kumail Nanjiani, Matt Ross, Martin Starr, Zach Woods, Jimmy O. Yang

Comedy Guest Actor – Chris Diamantopoulos

Vice Principals

Comedy Actor – Danny McBride

Comedy Supporting Actress – Dale Dickey, Georgia King, Edi Patterson, Busy Phillips

Comedy Supporting Actor – Walton Goggins, Sheaun McKinney, Shea Whigham

Comedy Guest Actress – Kimberly Hebert Gregory

Comedy Guest Actor – Fisher Stevens


The Deuce

Drama Actress – Maggie Gyllenhaal

Drama Actor – James Franco

Drama Supporting Actress – Dominique Fishback, Margarita Levieva, Emily Meade

Drama Supporting Actor – Gbenga Akinnagbe, Gary Carr

Drama Guest Actress – Zoe Kazan

Drama Guest Actor – Clarke Peters

Game of Thrones

Drama Actress – Emilia Clarke

Drama Actor – Kit Harington

Drama Supporting Actress – Lena Headey, Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams

Drama Supporting Actor – Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Peter Dinklage

Drama Guest Actress – Diana Rigg

Here and Now

Drama Actress – Holly Hunter

Drama Actor – Tim Robbins

Drama Supporting Actress – Sosie Bacon, Jerrika Hinton

Drama Supporting Actor – Raymond Lee, Peter Macdissi, Daniel Zovatto

Drama Guest Actor – Ted Levine


Drama Actress – Evan Rachel Wood

Drama Actor – Ed Harris, Jeffrey Wright

Drama Supporting Actress – Thandie Newton, Tessa Thompson

Drama Supporting Actor – James Marsden

Drama Guest Actress – To Be Announced

Drama Guest Actor – To Be Announced


Fahrenheit 451

Movie/Limited Series Actor – Michael B. Jordan

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actress – Sofia Boutella

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actor – Michael Shannon


Movie/Limited Series Actress – Jennifer Ferrin

Movie/Limited Series Actor – Garret Hedlund, Devin Ratray

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actress – Sharon Stone

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actor – Beau Bridges, Paul Reubens, Frederick Weller

Notes from the Field

Movie/Limited Series Actress – Anna Deveare Smith


Movie/Limited Series Actress – Riley Keough

Movie/Limited Series Actor – Al Pacino

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actress – Kathy Baker, Annie Parisse

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actor – Greg Grunberg, Larry Mitchell


Movie/Limited Series Actress – Jodi Balfour

Movie/Limited Series Actor – Richard Dormer

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actress – Rosalind Elezar

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actor – Paterson Joseph, Ray Stevenson

The Tale

Movie/Limited Series Actress – Laura Dern

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actress – Ellen Burstyn, Elizabeth Debicki, Isabelle Nelisse

Movie/Limited Series Supporting Actor – Common, Jason Ritter

The 70th Primetime Emmys Awards will take place in Los Angeles on 17 September.