Jelly Roll wins three prizes at 2024 CMT Music Awards

Jelly Roll wins three prizes at 2024 CMT Music Awards

Jelly Roll took home three prizes at the 2024 CMT Music Awards on Sunday night.

The singer, real name Jason DeFord, won all the awards he was nominated for; Video of the Year, Male Video of the Year and CMT Performance of the Year, all for Need a Favor.

During his acceptance speech for Male Video of the Year, the musician declared that he was having "one of the greatest nights of my life" and referenced his stints in jail as a troubled youth.

"It's important that I stand up here tonight and represent those looking for second chances," he said. "The kids back in the Metro-Davidson Detention Facility and the kids down here in the Austin Juvenile Detention Facility watching this tonight, I'm cheering y'all boys on. You can be this guy. You can change. You can turn it around. I promise you can, baby."

The 39-year-old later closed the show with a rendition of his track Halfway to Hell.

Other winners included Lainey Wilson for Female Video of the Year, Dan + Shay for Duo/Group Video of the Year, and Carly Pearce and Chris Stapleton for Collaborative Video of the Year.

Meanwhile, Trisha Yearwood was presented with the inaugural June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award by Jane Seymour in recognition of her "exceptional dedication to the community and fellow artists".

Yearwood hit the stage to perform during the show, as did Keith Urban, Jason Aldean, Little Big Town and Sugarland, and Wilson.

One of the highlights of the ceremony was a musical tribute to late country star Toby Keith, who died in February. Wilson, Brooks & Dunn and Sammy Hagar performed his hits Should've Been a Cowboy, I Love This Bar and How Do You Like Me Now?! as Keith's three children watched from the audience.

The 2024 CMT Awards were hosted by Kelsea Ballerini at the Moody Center in Austin, Texas.

Here are the full list of winners:

Video of the Year: Jelly Roll - Need A Favor

Female Video of the Year: Lainey Wilson - Watermelon Moonshine

Male Video of the Year: Jelly Roll - Need A Favor

Duo/Group Video of the Year: Dan + Shay - Save Me The Trouble

Collaborative Video of the Year: Carly Pearce feat. Chris Stapleton - We Don't Fight Anymore

Female Breakthrough Video of the Year: Ashley Cooke - Your Place

Male Breakthrough Video of the Year: Warren Zeiders - Pretty Little Poison

CMT Performance of the Year: Jelly Roll - Need a Favor (from 2023 CMT Music Awards)

CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year: Scotty McCreery - It Matters To Her (from CMT Stages)

June Carter Cash Humanitarian Award: Trisha Yearwood.