Loose Women's Denise Welch 'sick of doing the loser's face' at the NTAs

Albertina Lloyd
Entertainment reporter, Yahoo UK
Denise Welch stormed home from the NTAs in a sulk (Credit: Getty Images)

Loose Women panelist Denise Welch has confessed she is “sick” of losing to This Morning at the National Television Awards.

The 61-year-old former Coronation Street star joined the panel of the ITV chat show in 2015 and has seen it lose out to Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield every year for the last five years it has been nominated at the NTAs.

Welch left the awards ceremony almost immediately, tweeting at 9.37pm: “I’m (in) the car on the way home. Sick of doing the losers face and pretending to not care we didn’t win!!”

Read more: David Walliams jibes at Laurence Fox's 'empty diary' in NTAs opening monologue

This Morning’s Willoughby and Schofield won the award in their nominated category, this year titled Best Live Magzine Show, for the 10th year running.

As former This Morning hosts Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan announced the winner, Willoughby, 38, gasped and put her hand over her mouth, while Schofield, 57, sat open-mouthed before they shared an embrace.

In 2017 when This Morning was announced as the winner, Loose Women’s Nadia Sawalha was caught on camera mouthing: “Every f***ing year! EVERY f***ing year!"

She later tweeted: “"That moment when the camera is on you and you're not quite ready with your gracious loser face.”

Good Morning Britain host Piers Morgan refused to attend this year’s ceremony, declaring he was boycotting the awards as he was tired of losing out to This Morning every year.

Today he branded the NTAs “boring” and called for them to be scrapped.

Loose Women's Kelle Bryan, Kaye Adams, Stacey Solomon, Judi Love, Andrea McLean, Coleen Nolan, Brenda Edwards, Linda Robson, Nadia Sawalha, Denise Welch and Saira Khan at the NTAs 2020. (Getty Images)

The Loose Women presenters put on a united front at the ceremony last night – all wearing red, with the exception of Eternal singer Kelle Bryan, who was also attending as a member of the Hollyoaks cast.

Read more: National Television Awards 2020 winners list in full

Sawalha said ahead of the ceremony: “We love to show solidarity on the red carpet... This year every single one us, wearing a red gown... we were thinking on the red carpet how amazing that will be everyone in red.”