Trafford council local election 2024 results in full

Labour members celebrate in Trafford -Credit:LDRS
Labour members celebrate in Trafford -Credit:LDRS

Labour comfortably retained control of Trafford council at this year's local elections - and gained two seats, giving the party the highest number of councillors in the authority's 50-year history.

The Reds now hold 43 seats on the 63-strong council after 21 seats, one for each ward, were contested in Thursday's poll.

The three other parties represented in Trafford, after voting on Thursday, are the Conservatives with eight seats, the Liberal Democrats now have six members, as do the Greens.

READ MORE: Local election 2024 results LIVE - Manchester results announced as George Galloway's party snatches deputy leader's seat

Labour gained a seat from the Tories in Manor ward where Keleigh Marie Glenton unseated Rupali Paul by a winning margin of 30 votes.

In Broadheath they also ousted Conservative Kaushik Chakraborty, with Labour's Ulrich Savary winning the seat with a majority of just six.

The increase in councillors means Labour has a massive majority in the borough.

Trafford council, from 2004 to 2018 was in Conservative control, and was often referred to as the Tories' 'jewel in the crown' authority in the north of England.

As recently as 2018 the Conservatives had 34 seats on the council with them seeing a collapse in support since then.

One unusual feature of the elections was that two Green Party candidates stood against each other in Bucklow St Martins ward due to a nomination mix-up where the party members sent in papers for two candidates in the mistaken belief that only one nomination had been sent.

Rodrigo Capucho Paulo got 72 votes and the second Green hopeful, Daniel Wandsworth got 129. Neither were elected.

Labour leader and council leader Tom Ross said: "We're thrilled that the voters of Trafford have placed even greater trust in us this week. We have two new amazing councillors who will work hard for their constituents.

"When I was elected in 2008 we had a group of 18 councillors, now it's 43. It's taken a lot of hard work by so many to gain the trust and support of so many. We will not be complacent and we will continue to work hard for our brilliant borough's residents."

Liberal Democrat leader Shaun Ennis, said: "We've had another solid set of results in our target seats. Meena Minnis and Simon Lepori were re-elected with huge majorities in Timperley.

"They deserve the support they have received because they are hard working local champions who never take their community for granted."

Greater Manchester local election results 2024

Here are all the local election results where you live in Greater Manchester: