UK Covid travel: What countries are on the red list?

·3-min read

England has so far added ten countries to the red list.

Flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe were suspended from midday on Friday, Health Secretary Sajid Javid said.

The government is to add four more countries to the list after two cases of the Omicron variant were detected in the UK on Saturday.

Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Angola will join the travel red list from 4am on Sunday.

Travellers who have returned from these four countries in the last 10 days must isolate and get a PCR test, officials said.

– What is the ‘red list’?

It is a Government list of countries from which people travelling to the UK are subjected to restrictions in a bid to protect the UK from coronavirus variants of concern.

– What determines which countries are added?

A range of factors are assessed, including evidence of new variants being exported to the UK or other countries, and a country’s access to reliable scientific data and genomic sequencing.

– Who is on the list?

Ten African countries are on the red list for travel.

These are: South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini and Zimbabwe, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Angola

In October, the Government removed all countries from its red list in a dramatic easing of travel restrictions.

– What has the Government said about the new variant?

Health Secretary Sajid Javid said the new variant identified in South Africa “may be more transmissible” than the Delta strain and added “the vaccines that we currently have may be less effective”.

– What impact does being on the list have on travel?

People who have been in a red list country in the previous 10 days are not allowed to enter the UK, unless they are a UK or Irish national or have residence rights in the UK.

– What about quarantine hotels and testing?

People who are allowed to enter the UK from a red list country must quarantine in a Government-approved hotel for at least 10 days.

Mr Javid said: “Those countries are South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana. We will be requiring anyone that arrives from those countries from 4am on Sunday to quarantine in hotels.

“If anyone arrives before then they should self-isolate at home and take a PCR test on day two and day eight. And if anyone has arrived from any of those countries over the last 10 days, we would ask them to take PCR tests.”

Those entering the UK from a red list country must isolate for 10 days in a managed quarantine hotel.

The hotel costs £2,285 per adult for a 10-day stay. The additional rate for another adult – or child over 11 – is £1430 and £325 for children aged 5 to 11.

– Are direct flights banned from red list countries?

Flights from the ten African countries now on the red list have been temporarily banned, the Government has said.

Read More

Thousands raised for celebrity stylist after son, 3, found dead

888 set to complete takeover of William Hill’s European arm in early 2022

‘Dangerous’ Ghislaine Maxwell preyed on girls for Epstein to molest, court told

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting